The Department of Nursing was first established in 1979 with a four-years study program in the School of Medicine of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens and its first opening was at the academic year 1980-81

Since the academic year 1983-84, the Depar­tment of Nursing is equal with the other Depar­tments of the University according to the law for the Higher Educational Institutes, the 2424/83 decision of the Council of State, the Bl.959/22-8-83 Ministry Decision and the since 25-7-83 decision of the senate of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. Since then, The Department of Nursing was included in the School of Health Sciences as an indepen­dent department.

The Department of Nursing aims at the spherical education of scientific nurses. The sublets of the theoretical and practical education refer to the prevention, treatment and rehabilitation of the healthy or ill people, their family and their community.

More specifically the Department of Nursing provides:

  1. Complete education of nurses in:
  • healthcare for individuals, families and communities
  • organisation and management of healthcare services
  • research
  • education
  1. Chances for active participation in the production of new knowledge in the sector of health (research)